Understanding DWI – DUI – DWAI Charges in Florida NY
The odds of being caught after drinking alcohol is greater than ever before in Florida NY because of NY’s STOP-DWI law. It is unlawful to drive drunk – DWI (driving while intoxicated) – or DUI (under the influence) – or DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) by alcohol or a drug.
For DWI a BAC (Blood Alcohol Count) of .08 percent or higher is evidence of intoxication or other evidence of impairment. Drivers of commercial motor vehicles it’s a BAC of .04.
A BAC of .18 percent or more is evidence of aggravated driving while intoxicated.
For DWAI if impaired by alcohol the BAC is .05 but less than .07 BAC, or other evidence of impairment.
DWI – DUI’s are serious offenses in Florida NY. The penalties for an alcohol or drug-related violation may result in license revocation, fines, and possible jail time. Repeat offenders face increased penalties, including higher fines, longer license suspensions, and mandatory jail time.
As a DWI attorney with over 35+ plus years’ experience in Criminal Justice Law and a former prosecutor, Lisa Pelosi will work to come up with the best defense for your DWI violation. At the Law Office of Lisa Pelosi helping you fight charges so you can move on with your life is the goal.
Immediate Steps to Take When Facing a DWI/DUI Arrest
If you or a loved one is facing a DWI – DUI arrest in Florida NY, these steps are important to know –
1) comply with the police and remain calm
2) exercise your Miranda right to remain silent and call your DWI criminal defense attorney.
3) know that there are consequences if you refuse the chemical test for BAC (Blood Alcohol Content), these include your license will be suspended at arraignment, and revoked for at least one year if first offense. The penalties and fines for refusing to submit to a chemical test are separate from, and in addition to, the penalties and fines for alcohol or drug-related conviction.
4) know that operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs with a passenger under the age of 16 is a Class E felony punishable by up to four years in state prison, known as Leandras Law.
How Lisa Pelosi, DWI Attorney, Can Help
Call Lisa Pelosi now at 845-999-9394. Lisa is a DWI attorney serving the Florida NY area and will work with you to prepare the best defense after reviewing all the case details. Lisa and her team will represent you in court and explore all options to have your charges dismissed or reduced. Lisa will also navigate you to fulfill the requirements of various programs that the courts may impose as part of your sentence.